An animal meme

A couple of people have recently tagged me with blog memes. I don’t usually do these, but I’m amused by the first and honoured by the second and I’m in a good mood tonight. So, without further ado, here’s the first, tagged by Kate from Anterior Commissure.

An interesting animal I had: I’ve never had a pet, so this could be very boring. However, I grew up in Malaysia and we had a troupe of macaques who were pestering the house for months. One night, we came home to find that one had snuck in the house and raided the kitchen. I found it in the bathroom with a carton of eggs, most broken. It screeched, threw an egg at me and ran out the window.

An interesting animal I ate: Thomson’s gazelle, in Kenya. It was the most incredible meat I’ve ever tasted – gamey, tender, flavourful. I have never had anything quite like it since. In nature documentaries, one of the fave set pieces of the cheetah appears to be running down Thomson’s gazelle. To be honest, if I could eat one of those, I’d have a go at running at 60mph too.

An interesting animal at the Museum: The Diplodocus at London’s Natural History Museum is an obvious but deserving choice. It’s a marvellous sight for visitors entering London’s finest science museum bar none. Last time I went, I saw a class of children with learning disabilities being ushered round the museum. One of them stopped by the large dinosaur and started moving in strange ways while making odd sounds. Soon, it became rapidly clear that he was having an imaginary lightsaber fight with the Diplodocus. And that, ladies and gentlemen, is why dinosaurs rock. They will always bring out the kid in us.

An interesting thing I did with or to an animal: When I was knee high to a grasshopper, I got into trouble at Kuala Lumpur Zoo for climbing the fence to the giant tortoise enclosure and sitting on one.

An interesting animal in its natural habitat: I had the immense pleasure to go to the Galapagos Islands about ten years ago. The chance to get near the endemic wildlife (and I mean near – they’re very fearless) was amazing but nothing beat the snorkelling. Sealions would swim about me, some trying to pull my flippers off. But even that pales in comparison to the moment when an absolutely enormous shadow appeared in the water and turned out to be a manta ray. It swam right up to me and swerved to the right, bizarrely alien, unerringly graceful and f**king huge. I touched it. It felt sandpapery. It swam away.

Right. I tag Amuirin, the Bleiman Brothers, Carl Zimmer, Susan Kuchinskas and Tara Smith.

5 Responses

  1. sitting on a tortoise…that definitely wins for the “with/to” category

  2. Sweet.

    I’ll hafta give it some serious thought to be anything near as informative as yours.

  3. Thanks Ed. You know, my brother has a penchant for egg theft and sounds exactly like a macaque when startled… just a possibility.

  4. […] Ed got memed, and he passed it on to me, probably cus I’ve been reading his virus posts, and… what’s that latin phrase that means ‘It logically follows’? I forget. But here goes: […]

  5. Man, I’d love to play along, but I’m the most boring person in the world. I’ll see if I can think of anything interesting…

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

